Accepting Student Trainee Applications for September 2024

The CREATE LEAP program is seeking student trainee applications for our September 2024 start date. We have open funded positions for M.Sc. and Ph.D. students, as well as unfunded positions available for undergraduate students. If you are a student who is interested in a career in permafrost science, this program would be a great fit for you.

Students trainees conduct research alongside one of our experienced co-grantee researchers, while simultaneously receiving fundamental knowledge through an Online Training Course, hands-on professional skills training in Canada’s North, and mentorship and collaboration opportunities.

To apply, submit an application by Friday, February 16th to join this program in September 2024. Check out the application and other program details here.

LEAP Online Training Course – Holiday Break

The LEAP Online Training Course has wrapped up its fall term, which included foundational knowledge sessions on Permafrost’s Physical Landscapes and Processes and Interactions in the Northern Environment. We concluded with a Professional Skills Panel Discussion on relationship building, working in cross disciplinary teams, and knowledge co-creation. Thank you to our many wonderful instructors who shared their areas of expertise with us this fall!

The LEAP Online Training Course will resume its regular weekly sessions starting on January 9, 2024 for the winter term. These will occur on Zoom from 11:30-1 pm PT, 12:30-2 pm MT, and 2:30-4 pm ET. Topics will include data, modelling, and mapping, as well as research applications.

Have a wonderful holiday break and see everyone in the New Year!